- Back to Stadium History & Development
2010 – 2015
Croke Park celebrates the distinction of becoming the first stadium in the world to receive the prestigious BS 8901 Certification for Sustainable Event Management, the highest accolade of its kind. To mark this achievement, the stadium presented compost from its recycling initiatives to pupils from O’Connell’s Primary School to plant a commemorative tree in the school garden.
In July, the GAA Museum was awarded interim accreditation by the Heritage Council under the Museum Standards Programme for Ireland at a ceremony in Dublin Castle.
In September, the hurlers of Tipperary ended Kilkenny’s bid for an historic five-in-a-row when they defeated the reigning champions in the All-Ireland decider.
On 18th May
, Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II and the Duke of Edinburgh visited Ireland’s largest and most iconic sporting arena, as part of their historic state visit to Ireland. The Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh were welcomed at the Hogan Stand by the President of the GAA, Christy Cooney. During their stadium tour they visited the dressing rooms and made their way to the side of the hallowed playing ground which is the venue for the highest profile events on the Irish sporting calendar.
, the GAA Museum was awarded full accreditation status by the Heritage Council under the Museum Standards Programme for Ireland. The Museum Standards Programme, the first of its kind in Ireland, is an important initiative which sets out to improve all aspects of Ireland’s museum practice and in particular raise the standards of care for collections across Irish museums and galleries.
The footballers of Dublin won the All-Ireland senior title in dramatic fashion when goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton scored an injury-time winning point against rivals Kerry. It was a first All-Ireland title for the Dubs since 1995.
Xi Jingping, the Vice-President of the People's Republic of China, paid a visit to Croke Park on the second day of his official visit to Ireland. Mr Xi was greeted at GAA HQ by Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Criostóir Ó Cuana and Ard Stiúrthóir Páraic Ó Dufaigh. He was treated to a demonstration of Gaelic Games, Gaelic football and hurling, on the Croke Park pitch by children from Round Towers, Clondalkin and Whitehall Colmcilles GAA clubs. He was given a tour of the stadium and also met with some inter-county stars, including Tipperary hurling goalkeeper Brendan Cummins.
On 1st June
, Dublin’s newest visitor attraction was launched with the Etihad Skyline Tour. This roof-top tour of Croke Park boasts spectacular panoramic views of Dublin city and its surroundings from 44 meters or 17 storeys above the ground.
The Olympic Flame came to Croke Park in June 2012
with Kilkenny hurling legend, Henry Shefflin, given the honour of carrying the torch around the stadium with the main part of the ceremony taking place on the new Etihad Skyline.
Galway defeated Kilkenny in the Leinster Senior Hurling Final and became the first county from outside Leinster to win the Bob O’Keeffe Cup.
, the All-Ireland Hurling Final ended in a draw for the first time since 1959. In the replay, Kilkenny defeated Galway.
Eucharistic Congress – June 2012
2013 marked 100 years of Croke Park being the official home of the GAA. In 1908 Frank Dineen purchased the 14-acre City and Suburban Racecourse for the sum of £3,250 with the sole aim of providing the GAA with a suitable home. Between 1908 and 1910, he oversaw substantial improvements to the grounds, including relaying the entire pitch and increasing the terrace accommodation. These improvements were paid for by Dineen himself and, in 1910, due to financial constraints, he had to sell off four acres of the ground to the Jesuits of Belvedere College for £1,090. Following the sale of the grounds to the GAA, who subsequently re-named it the Croke Memorial Park (and later simply Croke Park) Dineen remained involved in the GAA until his death in 1916. In 2006 Hill 16 was officially re-named Dineen Hill 16 in honour of Frank Dineen.
The historic signing over on December 18 1913 helped ensured that Croke Park would remain the playing headquarters of the Association from that day until this. Descendants of Frank Dineen and other signatories joined the GAA to marks 100 years since the deeds to Croke Park were signed on 18 December 1913
– the GAA Museum Hall of Fame is unveiled, with the two former greats – Offaly footballer Tony McTague and Limerick hurler Eamonn Cregan – the first inductees into the Hall of Fame. All 30 players from the Teams of the Millennium were also honoured through their inclusion in the exhibit.
– An Taoiseach Enda Kenny, T.D. officially unveiled the newly-refurbished GAA Museum. The final phase of renovation included the official GAA Hall of Fame, a modern-day heroes and legends gallery, eight exciting interactive skill zones and dedicated sound booths showcasing clips from the association’s oral history archive. The museum boasts a vast collection of objects that illustrate the development of Gaelic games from ancient times to the present day.
– the new Hawkeye point detection technology for both hurling and football at Croke Park was first utilised on June 1st at the Leinster GAA Football Senior Championship Quarter-final double header.
– for the second year running, the All-Ireland Hurling Final ended in a draw. Clare and Cork returned to Croke Park on Saturday 28th September, with Clare emerging as victors after a thrilling encounter. Clare captain Pat Donnellan accepted the Liam MacCarthy Cup in a floodlit Croke Park.
– American college football came to Croke Park when Penn State played University of Central Florida in the Croke Park Classic. A crowd of 50,000 enjoyed the spectacle.
For a third consecutive year, the All-Ireland Hurling Final ended in a draw, with Hawkeye deployed to confirm the last score of the game between Tipperary and Kilkenny. The replay was another thrilling encounter which resulted in a Kilkenny victory and All-Ireland medal number ten for Henry Shefflin, a unique feat.
One Direction play three nights at Croke Park on the ‘Where We Are’ Tour with over 235,000 in attendance.
- A replica of the Olympic Torch from London 2012 is installed on the Skyline to commemorate the Olympic Torch Run through Dublin in 2012, which included a lap on the Skyline by Kilkenny legend Henry Shefflin.
– a new look Blackthorn Café opens beside the GAA Museum in the Cusack Stand. The Café is named after the blackthorn stick which Michael Cusack always carried by his side.
The annual GAA Museum Exhibition opens. The display, called GAA Dynasties, celebrates the unique accomplishments of some of Gaelic Games’ most famous families.
Kilkenny retain the Liam MacCarthy Cup at the expense of Galway, while Dublin claimed their third Football title in five years, beating Kerry by three points.
The Script & Pharrell Williams play Croke Park on the ‘No Sound Without Silence’ Tour while Ed Sheeran plays two nights on his ‘x’ Tour to over 162,000 fans.