With a presence in every community throughout Ireland, the GAA permeates Irish life like no other organisation or movement. Through its exhibitions, the GAA Museum offers a unique insight into Irish life and provides a rich experience that extends beyond sport.

At the GAA Museum, the exhibition galleries extend across two floors and include permanent and temporary exhibitions. Highlights of the museum’s permanent exhibition include the official GAA Hall of Fame and the Treasury of Trophies. The current temporary exhibition is a celebration of our 20th Anniversary and it runs until May 2019.

Read about some of our past exhibitions.

The GAA Museum is turning 20!

New exhibition at the GAA Museum

We’re so proud of everything the GAA Museum stands for and everything it has achieved over the last 20 years.

We couldn’t be successful in what we do without what you do – families, clubs, schools, local communities, donors, sponsors, friends of the GAA – every single one of you contributes both to our overall goals and our pride in what we do. 

That’s why we’re thrilled to share our Anniversary Programme with you – six months of events that are as much about celebrating you as celebrating us. Have a look through the events and try to find a date (or two!) to celebrate with us!

Find Out More

GAA Hall of Fame

The official GAA Hall of Fame celebrates former players who have made a unique and exceptional contribution to Hurling and Football.

Offaly's Tony McTague and Limerick's Eamonn Cregan became the first players inducted into the GAA Hall of Fame in 2013. In 2018, Armagh's Joe Kernan and Limerick's Leonard Enright were the latest players inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Visit GAA Hall of Fame

Treasury of Trophies

The museum is home to the most iconic trophies in Irish sporting life – the Sam Maguire & Liam MacCarthy Cups – awarded annually to the winners of the All-Ireland football and All-Ireland hurling championships.

The original trophies now reside permanently in The GAA Museum as the centrepieces of a magnificent trophy display that is the focal point of the museum’s ground-floor exhibition gallery. This display includes the original Sigerson & Fitzgibbon Cups, as well as the original Croke Cup and Bob O’Keeffe Cup.

Sam Maguire Cup

The Sam Maguire Cup is awarded annually to the winners of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship. The cup was wrought by Hopkins and Hopkins of Dublin to the design of the early Christian Ardagh Chalice and named after Cork man, Sam Maguire, who was instrumental in the GAA scene in London at the turn of the 20th century. Kildare was the first county to win the cup in 1928. The cup was last presented in 1987 to Meath captain, Mick Lyons, before it was retired. A replica of the cup was introduced in 1988 and presented to that year’s All-Ireland Football champions, Meath. This replica is awarded annually to the All-Ireland Football champions while the original Sam Maguire Cup resides permanently in the GAA Museum.


Liam MacCarthy Cup 

The Liam MacCarthy Cup is awarded annually to the winner of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship. The cup was wrought by Edmund Johnson Jewellers of Grafton Street and is modelled on a medieval drinking mether. The cup was named in honour of Liam MacCarthy, a former president of the London Board of the GAA who commissioned the trophy. The cup was first presented in 1923 to Limerick after defeating Dublin in the delayed 1921 All-Ireland Hurling Final. A replica of the cup was introduced in 1992 and presented to that year’s hurling champions, Kilkenny. This replica is awarded annually to the All-Ireland hurling champions while the original Liam MacCarthy Cup resides in the GAA Museum.

Past Temporary Exhibitions

We've had many interesting exhibitions on show over the years including; Hair Hurling Balls:  Earliest Artefacts of our National Game, GAA – A Global Phenomenon, Dermot Earley – Leader & Legend and the Fighting Irishmen Exhibition.

More about our past exhibitions