" "

GAA Museum Hall of Fame

The GAA Museum Hall of Fame serves as a permanent reminder to the greatness of the players who adorned our game at the highest level.

It is important that these players are remembered not only by those who were lucky enough to see them, but crucially by those who did not have that privilege.

The award embraces the totality of the skills required to have made an exceptional and enduring impact in football and hurling, including individual skills and a clear contribution to overall team performance and sportsmanship.

The Hall of Fame opened in 2013 with all 30 players from the GAA hurling and football ‘Teams of the Millennium’ becoming the first inductees to this prestigious club. Find out more about the Teams of the Millennium
Every year, new inductees and their guests are invited to the GAA Museum for an induction ceremony where they are officially welcomed into the Hall of Fame by Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchelas Gael.
Visitors to the GAA Museum Hall of Fame can view footage showcasing the inductees and their spectacular play. These videos are narrated by the legendary Mícheál O’Muircheartaigh. There are also medals, jerseys, hurleys, footballs and awards belonging to these renowed players on display.


Click on an image below to scroll through the details of each inductee.


The Teams of the Millennium in the GAA Museum’s Hall of Fame

When the GAA Museum Hall of Fame was unveiled in 2013, the very first inductees were all 15 members from both the hurling and football Teams of the Millennium.  Their images grace the walls of this section of the museum, inspiring memories of some of the best players ever seen in Gaelic games. There’s a chance to view archival footage of these all-time greats in action, with their story narrated by the great Mícheál O’Muircheartaigh.

The football team in full is Danno Keefe (Kerry), Enda Colleran (Galway), Joe Keohane (Kerry), Sean Flanagan (Mayo), Sean Murphy (Kerry), John Joe Reilly (Cavan), Martin O’Connell (Meath), Mick O’Connell (Kerry), Tommy Murphy (Laois), Sean O’Neill (Down), Sean Purcell (Galway), Pat Spillane (Kerry), Mikey Sheehy (Kerry), Tom Langan (Mayo) and Kevin Heffernan (Dublin).

The hurling team in full was Tony Reddin (Tipperary), Bobby Rackard (Wexford), Nick O’Donnell (Wexford), John Doyle (Tipperary), Brian Whelahan (Offaly), John Keane (Waterford), Paddy Phelan (Kilkenny), Lory Meagher (Kilkenny), Jack Lynch (Cork), Christy Ring (Cork), Mick Mackey (Limerick), Jim Langton (Kilkenny), Jimmy Doyle (Tipperary), Ray Cummins (Cork) and Eddie Keher (Kilkenny).

How were the team’s selected?

In August 1999 the An Post / GAA Football Team of the Millennium was revealed. The team was selected by a panel of former GAA presidents and sports journalists, with An Post issuing commemorative stamps to mark the occasion. The fifteen positions were filled by the best player to have ever played in that position. The team included six players from Kerry.

The following July, the Hurling Team of the Millennium was announced after a similar selection process. Kilkenny claimed four spots on the prestigious line-up. The team only varied on two positions from the 1984 Team of the Century – Brian Whelahan (Offaly) replaced Jimmy Finn (Tipperary) at right-back, while Ray Cummins (Cork) was awarded the full-forward berth in place of Nicky Rackard (Wexford).