Croke Park | GAA Museum & Tours | Library & Archive | GAA Archive Collections | Munster Provincial Council Minute Books

Munster Provincial Council Minute Books

Reference code: GAA/MUN/01/
Title: Munster Provincial Council Minute Books
Covering Dates: 1928-1981
Level of Description: Item/Collection level
Extent: 15 volumes


Biographical history

The Munster Provincial Council was formed in 1900 and administers the GAA throughout the six counties of Munster; Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford.

The Provincial Convention is held, at least six weeks before the GAA Annual Congress, to consider audited accounts, motions and general Provincial activities. The Convention also elects the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and PRO. Only motions carried at a County Convention may be submitted for consideration by the Provincial Convention. The Provincial Convention may make Bye-Laws, which shall become operative, when sanctioned by the Management Committee (Coiste Bainistí) on behalf of Central Council.

The Provincial Council consists of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and two Representatives from each County, as elected by the Provincial Convention. The Provincial Council remains in office until the conclusion of the following Provincial Convention; meeting no less than four times per year. Subject to the overall jurisdiction of the Central Council, the functions of a Provincial Council include the management of the Provincial Hurling and Football Championships; all matters relating to the management and selection of its Inter-Provincial teams; the control of financial and all other affairs of the Association that are not under the jurisdiction of a County Committee; to carry out the duties of a suspended County Committee; to submit one motion to the Annual Congress; to publish an annual report on the state of the games and games development in the counties under its jurisdiction and to approve physical developments by Clubs and to recommend County Grounds Development to Central Council.

Content and Structure

Scope and Content

Minute books contain the meeting minutes of the Munster Council, subsidiary committees and the Annual Provincial Conventions.

Topics of note recorded in the minute books include the composition of the Munster Council, in particular the elections of Provincial Officers (Chairman, Vice-Chairmen and Treasurer) at the annual Provincial Conventions and the appointment of the Provincial Secretary; the establishment of subsidiary committees (finance committee, development committee, grounds committee, hurling committee etc); the financial situation of the Council; the administration of games and competitions throughout the Province including the inauguration of various competitions (Munster Club Championships etc), the fixing of dates and venues, the appointment of referees, the hearing of appeals and objections and the acquisition of trophies. 
The minute books also detail the administration of the Accident Scheme / Fund throughout the Province; the organisation and administration of Gaelic games in the Munster schools and colleges; the development of grounds throughout the Province including the administration of the various Provincial and Central Council Grounds Schemes; the effect World War II had on the Council; the administration of handball and Scor throughout the Province; the relationship between the Munster Council, Central Council and the other Provincial Councils; relations between the Munster Council and the media (print, radio and television); and the reaction of the Munster Council to the political violence in the North of Ireland.

Conditions of Access and Use
Conditions governing access:
Access is strictly by appointment only using the 
                                                        provided application form
Language:                                     English
Finding Aid:                                   Descriptive List