Croke Park | GAA Museum & Tours | Library & Archive | GAA Archive Collections | Connacht Provincial Council Minute Books

Connacht Provincial Council Minute Books

Reference code: GAA/CON/01/
Title: Connacht Provincial Council Minute Books
Covering Dates: 1934-1983
Level of Description: Item/Collection level
Extent: 4 volumes


Biographical history
The Connacht Provincial Council was formed in 1900 and administers the GAA throughout the five counties of Connacht; Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo.

The Provincial Convention is held, at least six weeks before the GAA Annual Congress, to consider audited accounts, motions and general Provincial activities. The Convention also elects the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and PRO. Only motions carried at a County Convention may be submitted for consideration by the Provincial Convention. The Provincial Convention may make Bye-Laws, which shall become operative, when sanctioned by the Management Committee (Coiste Bainistí) on behalf of Central Council.

The Provincial Council consists of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and two Representatives from each County, as elected by the Provincial Convention. The Provincial Council remains in office until the conclusion of the following Provincial Convention; meeting no less than four times per year. Subject to the overall jurisdiction of the Central Council, the functions of a Provincial Council include the management of the Provincial Hurling and Football Championships; all matters relating to the management and selection of its Inter-Provincial teams; the control of financial and all other affairs of the Association that are not under the jurisdiction of a County Committee; to carry out the duties of a suspended County Committee; to submit one motion to the Annual Congress; to publish an annual report on the state of the games and games development in the counties under its jurisdiction and to approve physical developments by Clubs and to recommend County Grounds Development to Central Council.

Content and Structure

Scope and Content
Minute books contain the meeting minutes of the Connacht Council, subsidiary committees and the Annual Provincial Conventions.

Topics of note recorded in the minute books include the composition of the Connacht Council, in particular the elections of Provincial Officers (Chairman, Vice-Chairmen and Treasurer) at the annual Provincial Conventions and the appointment of the Provincial Secretary; the establishment of subsidiary committees (finance committee, development committee, grounds committee, hurling committee etc); the financial situation of the Council; the administration, and development, of games and competitions throughout the Province including the inauguration of various competitions (Connacht Club Championships, Under 21 competitions etc); the fixing of dates and venues, the appointment of referees, the hearing of appeals and objections and the acquisition of trophies; the inclusion of Galway in the Munster hurling championships; the inclusion of New York and London in the Connacht Championships; the administration of the Accident Scheme / Fund throughout the Province; the organisation and administration of Gaelic games in the Connacht schools and colleges; the development of grounds throughout the Province including the administration of the various Provincial and Central Council Grounds Schemes; the effect World War II had on the Council; the administration of handball and camogie throughout the Province; the relationship between the Connacht Council and the Central Council; the Council’s 1916 commemorations and the Council’s relationship with the media (print, radio and television)

Conditions of Access and Use
Conditions governing access: Access is strictly by appointment only using the 
                                                         provided application form
Language:                                     English
Finding Aid:                                   Descriptive List